EVEN THE DEVIL WAS AN ANGEL

His blonde hair was as beautiful as could be,
With eyes the color of blood, 
Palest, smoothest skin I ever did see,
Those fangs of his made my heart drop with a thud!

Whispered things in my ear,
Saying I should come with him, see a different side of things,
“Young man, this ain’t no way to spend your best years!”
My eyes went wide, and my soul began to sing!

I took his hand and I left my old life behind,
Our fates were each other’s from this point forth; forever intertwined,
Had tongue like a snake, and a voice like that smooth-talkin’ devil himself,
But Heaven don’t seem like much fun in hindsight; “beautiful fellow, drag me with you straight to Hell!”

My folks couldn’t bear it, my lips on another man’s,
Yet, I wasn’t up for sticking with any plans,
Not God’s, nor theirs,
A rolling stone without any cares!

Rambling from town to town,
Dancing off our feet, 
Vibe with any cool folks around that we could meet,
And when we were alone, we made music of our own; the sweetest of sounds!

Now they all said, “boy, that man is trouble!”
Good and godly’s so damn boring,
Preacher man and lawful bullshit’s got me snoring,
If he’s trouble, then goddamn! Please let me have double!

One night he says to me, “won’t you join me for eternity?”
I paused to think, for I was meek; “am I truly worthy?”
Eyes shining so bright, he purrs, “you’re the best thing I ever met; yes you heard me!”
And with a resolute nod, I offered my neck; that’s when he turned me!

Lo and behold, the night is my new domain,
Anyone gives me and my man any lip, and I’ll give them some pain,
Unbound by man-made or angelic decree, they say I’m insane,
The way I see it, I had so much to gain!

To live free or die, it’s the only I follow!

Existing any other way seems so dead and hollow!

My skin is cold, my heart don’t beat, but I’ve never felt more alive!

Perhaps it was always my wyrd; always how I was truly meant to thrive!

Leave a comment